Commonwealth Parliamentary Association

The Commonwealth Parliamentary Association (CPA) is an association of Commonwealth parliamentarians who, irrespective of gender, race, religion or culture, are united by a community of interest, respect for the rule of law and individual rights and freedoms, and by pursuit of the positive ideals of parliamentary democracy.

The association's mission is to promote the advancement of parliamentary democracy by enhancing knowledge and understanding of democratic governance. It seeks to build an informed parliamentary community able to deepen the Commonwealth's democratic commitment and to further cooperation among its parliaments and legislatures. This mission is achieved through a range of programs and activities for parliamentarians and parliamentary staff.

The CPA comprises nine regions: Africa; Asia; Australia; British Islands and Mediterranean; Canada; Caribbean, Americas and Atlantic; India; Pacific; South-East Asia.

Active CPA branches exist in 175 national, state, provincial and territorial parliaments, with a total membership of approximately 17,000 parliamentarians.

CPA headquarters is in London. Mr Karimulla Akbar Khan has been Secretary General since 1 January 2016.

The Executive Committee for the CPA comprises representatives from each region. The current Chairperson of the Executive Committee is Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury from Bangladesh.

The CPA includes Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians (CWP), which encourages female representation in parliaments and consideration of gender issues within CPA programs and activities. A steering committee for the CWP, comprising one representative from each region, plans the forward work program of the CWP. The current Chairperson of the CWP steering committee is the Hon. Dato' Noraini Ahmad MP from Malaysia.

More information on the CPA at the international level can be obtained from the CPA website


Australia Region

Australia is one of the founding members of the CPA. There are 8 Australia Region branches: Australian Capital Territory; New South Wales; Northern Territory; Queensland; South Australia; Tasmania; Victoria; and Western Australia.

The Australia Region Management Committee for the CPA comprises representatives from each of the branches and meets on an annual basis to consider the forward program of activities for the CPA in the region. This includes regional conferences, which are usually held in conjunction with the Pacific Region of the CPA. Northern Territory is currently the chair of the Australia Region Management Committee. The chair rotates annually among the region’s branches.

The Australia Region has three Regional Representatives. They currently are: Kezia Purick, MLA (Northern Territory); Russell Wortley, MLC (South Australia) and Hon John Ajaka, MLC (New South Wales)(Acting Regional Representative).

The Australia Region also has a Commonwealth Women Parliamentarians Steering Committee comprising one female parliamentarian from each region branch. The committee plans the work of CWP in the region. The current Chair of CWP Australia is the Hon Michelle O'Byrne MLA from Tasmania.

Tom Duncan
Honorary CPA Australia Regional Secretary
ACT Legislative Assembly, Civic Square, London Circuit, CANBERRA ACT 2601, Australia